Thomas Reatherford (7-26-11) services 7-28-11



Thomas Reatherford

Thomas Reatherford of Eagle Creek community was born March 19, 1927, in Wayne County, Tenn., the son of the late Thomas Marvin and Ollie Belle Melson Reatherford.

Mr. Reatherford departed this life Tuesday, July 26, at Wayne Medical Center in Waynesboro, at the age of 84 years, 4 months, 7 days.

In addition to his parents, Mr. Reatherford was preceded in death by a grandson, Shaun Folger; two brothers, Earnest Reatherford and Raymon Reatherford.

Mr. Reatherford, a World War II veteran, served his country in the U.S. Army. On July 22, 1947, he married Clara Haddock Reatherford. As a dedicated musician, he performed in many gospel groups while in Michigan and after returning to Wayne County. While living in Michigan, he worked at General Motors assemblying automobiles until his retirement. As an ordained deacon, he was a member of Ray’s Chapel Baptist Church where he served for several years.

He is survived by his wife of 64 years, Clara Nell Haddock Reatherford of Eagle Creek; sons, Danny Earl Reatherford of Savannah and James Terry Reatherford of Ypsilanti, Mich.; a daughter, Teresa Nell Reatherford Folger of Waynesboro, Tenn.; grandchildren, Gayla, Greg, Grant, Stefanie, Bryan, Kevin, Kellie and Tammy; a special friend that was like his grandchildren, Melinda Kelly and her children, Ragan and Braden; great-grandchildren, Alyssa, Ella, Maggie, Kelsey, Jacob, Cole, Kileyan, James, Stephen, and Keristen; great-great- grandchildren, Wyatt, Ayden, Aubrey, and Lucy; a sister Mary Ruth Reatherford White of Waynesboro; half brother, Sidney Phiilips of Lawrenceburg, Tenn.; nieces and nephews.

Services were Thursday, July 28, at 3 p.m., at Shackelford Funeral Home, Waynesboro, with Casey Jones and John Blackwell officiating. Burial with military rites will follow in Memorial Gardens with Shackelford Funeral Directors, Waynesboro, in charge of arrangements.

Pallbearers were Brian Staggs, Raymond Jackson, James Haddock, Kent Collier, Ronnie Pope, James Clemmons, Sidney Phillips, and Franklin Sharp and honorary pallbearer, Monroe Staggs.