Skip to content

Debris burn permits required starting Oct. 15

Trees being cleared and burned on a vacant lot at the corner of Guinn Street and DeFord Street in Savannah last Thursday.

The Tennessee Department of Agriculture’s Division of Forestry is reminding citizens to follow simple safety practices to prevent wildfires and obtain a debris burn permit for leaf and brush piles.
The official start of wildfire season in Tennessee is Oct. 15, at which point obtaining a burn permit is required.
“We encourage Tennesseans to remain vigilant, practice safe debris burning, and get a permit to prevent wildfires,” said State Forester David Arnold.
Debris burn permits for leaf and brush piles are available online at no charge. For larger, broadcast burning, such as forestry, agricultural, and land clearing, call your local Division of Forestry burn permit phone number Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The online system for permits and phone numbers can be found at The number to call in Hardin County is 877-350-2876.
Permits are issued only when conditions are conducive to safe burning. If you live inside city limits, there may be additional restrictions. Check with your municipality before you burn.
A list of materials that may not be burned can be found in the open burning guidelines from the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation at
The Division says burning without a permit, a Class C misdemeanor, is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine. Wildfires caused by arson are a class C felony punishable by three to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
Anyone with information about suspected arson activity can call the state Fire Marshal’s Arson Hotline at 800-762-3017. The hotline is answered 24 hours a day, and you may remain anonymous. Cash awards are offered for information leading to an arrest or conviction. To report illegal burning, call 888-891-TDEC.

Leave a Comment