Skip to content

Hardin County now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance program due to May 3-4 severe weather

Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee announced Friday the federal government is granting his request for Major Disaster Declaration and making federal recovery assistance available to Hardin and 19 other counties impacted from severe weather, flooding and straight-line winds on May 3-4.
“The devastating severe weather required a comprehensive response and stretched many local jurisdictions to their resource limits,” Gov. Lee said. “We are committed to supporting these communities and providing the necessary resources to assist their recovery efforts.”
Also included in the declaration are the counties of Benton, Carroll, Davidson, Decatur, Dickson, Dyer, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lawrence, Lewis, Madison, Maury, Obion, Perry and Weakley.
The major disaster declaration will allow government entities and certain private non-profits in the declared counties to apply for reimbursement of specific expenses related to the disaster under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance program.
The federal declaration also makes Tennessee eligible for the federal Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which provides assistance to communities to prevent or reduce long-term risks to life and property from natural hazards.
The 20 counties combined reported more than $14 million in damages structures and utilities.
In the Nashville metropolitan area winds between 60 and 80 mph caused power outages for more than 130,000 customers – the worst power outage on record for the city.
The total also includes costs the counties incurred for emergency work performed during and after the response, such as debris removal and power restoration.

Leave a Comment