Skip to content

As of Feb. 15, Hardin County early voting turnout down 23% so far from 2016 primary

Early voting for Tennessee’s March 3 presidential primary is underway until Feb. 25.
In Hardin County, the early voting turnout as of Saturday is down 23% from that of the comparable 2016 election.
Saturday, with seven days of early ballots cast, a total of 333 people had voted, versus 431 for the first seven day of early voting in the 2016 presidential preference primary, according the local election commission.
Three names appear on the Republican presidential ballot: President Donald Trump, Massachusetts Gov. Bill Weld and former U.S. Rep. Joe Walsh – who is no longer running for the nomination.
Democrats will see 15 names on their ballot – including six candidates who have dropped out: New Jersey Sen. Cory Booker, former U.S. Housing Secretary Julian Castro, former U.S. Rep. John Delaney, former Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick, entrepreneur Andrew Yang and spiritual guru Marianne Williamson.
Tennesseans need to bring a valid photo identification to vote; this includes a driver’s license, a photo ID issued by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security or a passport. College student IDs are not acceptable.
Locally, early voting takes place at the Election Commission office on the bottom floor of the Hardin County Courthouse in Savannah.
Voting hours are from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Thursday; and 9 a.m. to noon Saturday.

(Correction: A story in the Feb. 20 print edition incorrectly stated voting ends at 3 p.m. on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday.)

Leave a Comment