Skip to content

After the storm: Federal disaster declaration granted to Hardin, nine more counties

Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee announced Friday the federal government has granted his request for a Major Disaster Declaration to make federal recovery assistance available to Hardin and nine other county jurisdictions impacted during October’s severe weather and straight line winds.
“The devastating severe weather required a comprehensive response and stretched many local jurisdictions to their resource limits,” Lee said. “We are committed to supporting these communities and to securing the necessary resources for their recovery efforts.”
The following counties are also included in the declaration: Benton, Decatur, Henderson, Houston, Humphreys, McNairy, Montgomery, Perry and Wayne.
The major disaster declaration covers damage from the Oct. 26 severe weather, and will allow government entities and certain private non-profits in the eligible counties to apply for reimbursement of specific expenses related to the disaster under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance program.
The federal declaration also makes Tennessee eligible for the federal Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which provides assistance to communities to prevent or reduce long-term risks to life and property from natural hazards.
The 10 counties combined reported more than $21.8 million in storm damage to local infrastructure and for their emergency response work.

Leave a Comment